The Last Court: The Huntress – Initial Thoughts

CAUTION – This post contains spoilers for Dragon Age: The Last Court. Check out the BioWare Forum for FAQs and the tutorial.

Meet my Huntress, Asdis. Screenshot from The Last Court.I actually wanted to call her Damia, but that was taken; I guess I’m not the only Ann McCaffrey fan playing The Last Court. My only peeve with the game (well, apart from the “expired session” bug which I assume they’re still working on) is that you can’t give your character the same name as another player. I assume this is something to do with how Storynexus works as it’s the same in Fallen London, but it’s annoying given there’s no opportunity to actually interact with other Last Court players.

I’m considering this my ‘canon’ playthrough as I chose to say that Carver died in Lothering, which is true to my canon. I know it won’t actually make a difference to Inquisition, but since I know the game a little now it seemed like a good idea to have a canon for the world outside Serault and consider that when making decisions.

Screenshot from The Last CourtThe biggest change I’ve made was to welcome Morrigan, as my interactions with her as the Scholar didn’t yield any useful information on what she was doing. So far my Skills and Abilities are too low to get good information out of her but I remain hopeful.

Thankfully the Village Headsman card popped up again so I was able to pursue that story, and it was every bit as good as I’d hoped. I demanded the return of the Errant Siblings promising a favour in return, which the Forest Lord called to collect rather sooner than I’d expected. He wanted me to hand over a hunter who had killed his son (a deer). Screenshot from The Last Court.Since The Huntress is more about Dignity and Derring-do than the Scholar I decided to do the honourable thing and hand over the hunter; I had demanded the return of fugitives from my justice after all. I did make sure to specify that this cleared all debts between us. The Forest Lord agreed, and it seems things are peachy between the Lord of the Forest and the Lord of the Road and Field (his name for me). A card called The Abbess’ Road has appeared among my pinned cards though, so I don’t think I’ve heard the last of him.

Beyond that I’ve concentrated on getting my advisors in place: my Counsellor: The Smiling Guildmistress; my Accomplice: The Purveyor of Teas; and my Bodyguard: The Silent Huntsman. I’m working on seducing the Wayward Bard, and considering bringing the Dashing Outlaw on board as an Accomplice. I want to try and finalise appointments soon, then focus on hunting for the Trophies and Viands needed for the Divine’s visit.

So much to do, so little time!

